

Aug. 12, 2021 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: Francesca Donlan, Jackie Parker, Miriam Dotson 239-338-3500

New members appointed to Lee County Tourist Development Council

LEE COUNTY, Fla. – The Lee Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) appointed Sanibel Mayor Holly D. Smith and City of Fort Myers Councilmember Darla Bonk to the Lee County Tourist Development Council (TDC).

Smith replaces Town of Fort Myers Beach Vice Mayor Rexann Hosafros, and Bonk replaces Village of Estero Councilmember Jon McClain. Both will serve two-year terms.

This is Smith's second time to serve on the TDC. In 2018, she completed the remainder of the two-year TDC term held by then-Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane. She and her husband, Jason, are Lee County hoteliers and owners of Gumbo Limbo Management Development, LLC. They relocated to Southwest Florida in 1988 and moved to Sanibel in 2001.

Bonk represents Ward 6 in Fort Myers and was elected in 2020. She is vice president for sales and operations of Architectural Metal Flashings, a Cape Coral-based business she operates with her husband, Jeff.

The nine-member TDC was established as an advisory board to the BoCC in 1983 to increase off-season tourism in Lee County. According to Lee County Ordinance No. 16-18, two TDC seats are occupied by elected municipal officials and these seats rotate biannually.

For more information about the TDC, visit <u>leeveb.com</u> and <u>leegov.com/bocc</u>.



